Bi-Cultural Identity

In a piece for Asian Fortune News, writers, Sarah Choi, Francine Gorres, and Tina Ngo, make the argument that Asian-Americans are struggling to become bi-cultural and are expected to conform to multiple sets of norms.

“Giving our young people opportunities to share their cultural backgrounds and learn about the experiences and traditions of others is important to youth being able to shape and understand their unique identities,” Sarah Cho

Do you feel as if you are being forced or pressured into taking on an identity that you do not want, but feel a sense of pressure to become it?

In the article below, Sarah Choi, Francine Gorres, and Tina Ngo, argue why we should invest in Asian-American youth.
http://www.asianfortunenews.com/2013/12/5-reasons-why-we-should-invest-in-asian-american-youth/

It is believed that Asian-Americans, especially for the first and second generations, feel as if they need to adhere to a set of two different expectations. One is to embrace American culture and shed our Asian culture. On the other hand, we are expected to be proud of our Asian heritage and practice our culture. Failure to live up to either of the expectations, may lead to fear of isolation or cruel judgment.

Do you believe in this?

Do you think that young Asian-Americans, such as yourself, lack culturally appropriate support? Do you think it is a problem?

Assignment #7

One thought on “Bi-Cultural Identity

  1. I do believe that Asian-Americans are forced to become bi-cultural. If young Asians want to “fit in” in American society, they have to adapt their own lifestyles to fit the norm. In doing so, they lessen their Asian identity by hiding it. In this case, many Asian-Americans practice their Asian culture at home but conform to American culture in public.
    I have felt pressure to diminish my Asian identity in order to assimilate to American ideals. As a middle schooler, I was highly conflicted on who I was. I wanted to fit in so badly that I didn’t want to be different anymore. I avoided discussing my cultural identity at all costs. Here, I definitely lacked culturally appropriate support that would help inspire me to embrace my culture. I think it is important to address these issues so Asian-Americans can learn how to live their lives without the pressures of society put on them.

    Like

Leave a comment